Resizing God

“Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.”  Ecclesiastes 5:2.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ecclesiastes 4-6, Psalm 18, and Ephesians 3.

If I can imagine God size-wise, I would be imagining Him as huge.  Every other quality of His would be beyond my comprehension.

We are not equal with Him.  He’s not just another person in the rooms we’re in.  He is God.  He is in control of everything.

We can gain advantage in this world by “knowing somebody.”  They are able to get into places we couldn’t enter on our own.

How are we in the presence of Almighty God?  I often find myself in praying telling Him what to do.  Dispatching Him to the “fires” in my life.  But should I be doing that?

God knows everything about me.  He knows that a family member is having cancer surgery this week.  If I “dispatch” Him to the family member, I am acting as if He is not omnipresent.

This verse suggests that my words with God should be few.  The more words I use in conversing with Him the greater likelihood that I will sound like Peter as the Transfiguration.

I believe that God puts thoughts into my head.  If I want to know what He wants me doing I must be listening to what He has to say.  Otherwise, I will continue along my ways without Him.

“As Samuel said, ‘Speak, your servant is listening.’  Enable me, Father, to hear You.  Forgive me for dominating our conversations with my selfishness.  I want to please You.  I want to know Your will.  I want to be Spirit-directed in everything I do this day.  I commit to You, Father.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Do you dispatch God places when You pray?  If you believed that He is omnipresent you would know that He’s already there.  If you believed that He was already there, how then would you pray?

+9 same old

hw-june-7

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ecclesiastes

Comments are closed.