Dealing with sin

“Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them” Ephesians 5:11.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ecclesiastes 10-12, Psalm 94, and Ephesians 5.

The closer I am to God the quicker I will realize when I am sinning.

Sin is not always obvious.  Sometimes it is connected to something good and thereby gains entrance.   But the Godly person is not easily fooled that way.

So much of the life of the Godly person goes better when the day starts with a commitment to God and that commitment gets repeated throughout the day.

Too often a good start deteriorates into various forms of darkness.  I often have times of darkness when I am floating independently apart from God.  I lose track of Him.  My words, and sometimes my deeds, will betray my intended relationship to Him.

I need to learn where places are that lead to darkness and diligently avoid them.  I find TV and computers to be potential quagmires of darkness.  They don’t have to be but in certain areas and under certain conditions they can become pits of darkness.

I have no plans to stop watching TV or using my computer.  However, I must expose to myself a steady reminder of the potential darkness contained within each of them.

I do not hesitate to commit writing this blog to God’s guidance before each entry.  Why not commit myself to stick to the wholesome spots BEFORE I turn on the TV or computer?  Doing that will bring God intentionally into those details of my life.

“Lord, I want to rightly represent You in everything I do including what I watch.  I do not have the strength to go it alone without immersing in darkness.  I surrender to You.  Forgive me for trying ever to function apart from You.  I love You, Father.”

Commit to God before you enter known areas of darkness.

+9 steady high

hw-june-9

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.