All occasions deserve prayer

“And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.  With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” Ephesians 6:18.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Song of Songs 1-4, and Ephesians 6.

Prayer is not a part-time activity for sure!  Not the way it is spelled out here by Paul.

Whatever the situation, we must pray accordingly.

A verse such as “praying without ceasing,” becomes possible within the parameters of today’s chosen verse.

One part that reached me specifically in this verse was the part about being “alert.”  I think of how often things are going on around me and no prayer possibility comes to mind.  In the praying-without-ceasing mode this can’t be the case.

The possibility of ceaseless praying is opened up by this verse’s inclusion of “on all occasions.”  No time off noted!

I can’t be a one-trick pony when I pray.  There are moments of rejoicing…”My car started.”  There are moments of need……”I am uncertain of what I will face in the lesson I’m giving.”

There are needs in which I am missing details.  A relative was taken to the hospital days ago.  Details have not been forthcoming.  That can’t keep me from a general prayer…….”Lord, You are there with my relative right now.  Care for him.  I entrust him to You.”

The frequency of prayer is spelled out clearly in today’s verse.  The word “all” shows up three times and “always” is mentioned as well.  Prayer is something we need to do “always” and in “all” situations.  Are we willing to get after it in that tempo?

“Lord, You have loved me endlessly and without ceasing.  I must relate to You in the same way.  Forgive me for slacking off in seeing You and responding to You in my midst.  Prick my conscience when I get loose from connectedness to You.  I don’t want to connect to You sporadically.  You are my God.”

All situations that we will face today deserve prayer.

+9 steady but TOO high

hwfm-Sept-4

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.