Prayer for a graduate

“And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ – to the glory and praise of God.”  Philippians 1:9-11.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Song of Songs 5-8, and Philippians 1.

I have a granddaughter graduating from private school this afternoon.

My Bible reading brought me into today’s verses.  Interesting how God leads, isn’t it?

What would I want for someone who is facing new surroundings?  An uncertain future?

I see the word “discern” in these verses and that brings me directly back to Solomon’s desire for discernment to guide Israel.  God was pleased with that request.

I believe that I can intercede for others.  If I can ask God for discernment, then I can surely ask that others I pray for can have discernment too.  When the paralytic man was lowered before Jesus through a roof by his friends THEIR faith was recognized.  And so my faith can be recognized as I plead that she will have discernment as she makes choices ahead.

God is omnipresent.  He will be where I am not.  Knowing that He is in my granddaughter’s midst in the uncertain days ahead is comforting.

“Lord, take over my granddaughter’s life.  Help her to cling to you for discernment.  Help her to notice You in in her midst.  I surrender her to you.  Thank You, Lord, for what You will do.”

Plenty of great advice in today’s verses.

+8 progress

hwfm-Sept-2

Leave a comment

Filed under Philippians

Comments are closed.