Spiritual cause and effect

“For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.”  2 Chronicles 16:9.

“Because you relied on the king of Aram and not on the Lord your God, the army of the king of Aram has escaped from your hand.” 2 Chronicles 16:7.

“Though his disease was severe, even in his illness he did not seek help from the Lord, but only from the physicians.”  2 Chronicles 16:12.

Let the Scripture do the talking!

The way God works is very direct in these verses: Commit to Him and He can get involved.

The two bad choices King Asa of Judah made are described in verses seven and twelve.  In each one, Asa needed help but look where he turned for help.  It wasn’t God!

The consequences of his actions are clearly spelled out: trouble that could have been avoided.

I read about Asa and my first thoughts are that he should have known better.  Further thought sobers that initial reaction as I think of my own life.  How often do I leave God out of my life?  “Too often,” is the right answer.

I cannot expect God to bless me or help me or guide me if I choose to head out minus Him.

God knows best in every situation.  He knows what I should do and what I shouldn’t do.  Why would I not run everything past Him?

“Lord, forgive me for ignoring You.  You know best now and You always will.  Empower me to start each day under Your guidance.  Empower me to continue through each day under Your guidance.  Prick my conscience when I am misguided so that I can return to You.  I love You, Father.”

A fool knows God’s power yet opts to function using his own power.

+9 discouraging

hwfm-August-24

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.