Dressed right to please God

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.”  Colossians 3:12.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 20-21, 2 Chronicles 17, and Colossians 3.

All dressed up and ready to live as I should!

Paul lists qualities that should be on display in my life this day.

No need to suggest that I don’t understand them.  I know what they mean.

The challenge is to practice them naturally.

God knows my motives.  He will not be fooled by insincerity.

My sins are gone and I have a new life in God minus the burden of sins.  I must live accordingly.  That would certainly include exhibiting the qualities in the Colossians 3:12 list.

If those qualities are missing, then I have slipped into a sin-burdened life.  That should not be happening.  If my sins are gone, why would I return to them?  I have to remember that truth.

“Lord, I can tell when I am misrepresenting You.  Thank You for pricking my conscience.  Forgive me returning to sins that have no power over me unless I deliberately yield to them.   I have You.  I have Your Spirit.  I yield to their control.  I love You, Father.”

Does our behavior reveal accurately our relationship to God?

+9 unsatisfactory

hwfm-Sept-3

Leave a comment

Filed under Colossians

Comments are closed.