The perfect priest

“For surely it is not angels he helps, but Abraham’s descendants.  For this reason he had to be made like them, fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people.”  Hebrews 2:16-17.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading:  Hosea 2-5, and Hebrews 2.

Priests offered sacrifices annually for the sins of the people.  Those sacrifices would be for themselves as well because they too were sinners.

Jesus was a different kind of priest because He was sinless.  Instead of having an animal die for peoples’ sin, He sacrificed Himself for our sins.

It is hard to imagine such a thing!  The sacrifice Jesus made was for all sins for all time.

My sins are gone but sinning still happens.  Why?  Because it is in our nature.  The power within me to sin is dead but I can still choose to give it temporary life.

The Good News is that the power sin had over me died with Jesus as well as past/present/future sins.  The burden of sin is no more!  My life is obviously new with sins (past/present/future) gone.  I must live accordingly.

“Father, thank You for sending Jesus to remove my sin problem.  I have new life.  Forgive me for restoring sin to a power it doesn’t any longer have.  My sins are gone!   Help me to live accordingly.  Help me to get about Your Work here on earth.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Your sins are gone.  You’ve been set free.  Do you realize it?

+9 steady high

hm-75

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.