Why aren’t you Godlier?

“We have much to say about this, but, it is hard to make it clear to you because you no longer try to understand.  In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again.”  Hebrews 5:11-12.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Hosea 13-14, Psalm 100 & 102, and Hebrews 5.

Talk about a whack up side a believer’s head!

Longevity in the faith should be showing itself in spiritual productivity.

Think of the familiar question: If you were hauled into court and accused of being a Christian, would there be enough evidence to convict you?

If I want to be the best worker possible, I must pay close attention to the boss.  I need to listen.  I need to take mental notes.  I need to note how others do the job.  I need to interact with others doing the job to find out how they do it.  I need to be prepared for criticism.  I need to be persistent.

How can we settle for being a lukewarm believer?  The writer of Hebrews has apparently run into such people and sounds frustrated.  He wants to teach them more but they’re unmotivated and wouldn’t understand what he’s trying to teach.

How intent am I on being all that God wants me to be?  Will I put in the time to know Him better?

A bigger question may be: Do I want to know Him better?  Am I prepared to slide with what I’ve got?

God know our hearts.

How can I escape the criticism of these verses?

(1) I must take His Word seriously.  Don’t understand something?  Chase after meaning.  Plenty of online sources.   Plenty of commentaries.

(2) I must be ready at all times to rightly represent Him.  I need a clear grasp of what I believe and why I believe it.  I need to understand what I believe in comparison to what others believe.

(3) I need to listen carefully to Godly teachers.  Taking notes helps.  Talk of God needs to be in my head as well as my mouth.

We’re shooting for full-time Godliness.

“Oh Lord, forgive me for being on the wrong side of the criticism in this verse.  Forgive me for being complacent in my faith.  I need to be spiritually sharp.  Help me to organize my time so that You are truly in my personal midst at all times.  I love You, Lord.”

Are you on the wrong side of the criticism in today’s verses?  I am.

+9 narrowly

hm-78

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.