Tight rein or loose rein?

“Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on…….”  James 1:26.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 29-31, and James 1.

An animal on a loose rein is going to have a lot of leeway.  You had better be taking them along a wide road!

Tighten the rein when the path you are on is narrow and the sides are off-limits.

Today’s verse in James goes on to reference the tongue.  I am adding that my life in its entirety must be under His tight rein.

I mention frequently the problems that come when I get loose with God.  When other things become more important.  When He becomes an after-thought.

Before I know it, something gets my attention back to my godlessness and I know that a correction is essential.

God knows what is best for me.  He knows me entirely.  Under His tight rein I will be into places where I can BEST serve Him.  I can often think of places for activity that I think are best but that is during those “loose rein” times.  How much time have I wasted chasing my own plans!

I need to be close to God 24/7.  In my heart of hearts, I want to do exactly what He wants me to do.  But why don’t I?  Too much separation.  Too much time spent unengaging Him.  Tie it to today’s theme: too much of a loose rein.

“Lord, I need You in charge of me every second of every day.  Prick my conscience when I get loose from You.  I know that that arrangement is doomed to failure.  I love You and want to spend every hour connected to You.  Help me, I beg.”

Are you under a tight rein or a loose rein with God?

hm-717

 

Leave a comment

Filed under James

Comments are closed.