Are you unfaithful?

“You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world means enmity against God?  Therefore, anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God.”  James 4:4

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Chronicles 29-31, and James 4.

Strong words.

Adultery is showing love where it shouldn’t be shown. You have a wife yet you are more attached to someone else.

God looks at each of us.  We claim, as believers, to love Him but do we have other lovers?

God knows all about us.  Upon request (prayer?) He will certainly reveal to us any alternate lovers in our lives.

The physical world is not an evil place.  It is God’s creation and has remarkable beauty.  We are put here as stewards to prepare the earth for the Messiah’s return.

There is, however, much ungodliness in the world.  We are here to resist evil and through Him to make things Godly.

It is essential that each of us are clear in our love for God.  It should be an overflowing feature of our behavior.

How often I go through periods in which God is limited by me.  I know Him but counterfeit gods are getting more of my attention than He is.

If God cannot be front and center in what I’m doing, then I need to evaluate why I doing it.  I can garden and have Him front and center or I can garden without Him.  Every activity should be subject to screening.  In doing so it will force me away from some of the things I do or at least drive me to sort out why God isn’t in the mix in that activity.

“Lord, You alone are my God.  Forgive me for ever elevating anything but You to a high status.  Everything in this world is terminal.  You aren’t.  No need to put my trust anywhere else.  Prick my conscience when I am chasing counterfeit gods.  Help me to rightly evaluate activities that take my time to be sure that You are in them.  I need You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Has something other than God earned your first love?

+11 holding high

hm-720

 

Leave a comment

Filed under James

Comments are closed.