Are you becoming more or less Godly?

“Make every effort to add to your faith….”  2 Peter 1:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 50-52, Psalm 92, and 2 Peter 1.

Godliness is a current: If you are not going ahead with it, you are drifting backwards.

You can’t stay in one place.

This is not just a matter of knowing more Scripture verses or going to church more.  This is about being more like God.  Now those two things may factor into it but maybe not.

If I want to be “more” of anything, how would I go about it?

Take cooking, what would it take to be better at it?  Maybe there’s a good cook in the family.  Watch and learn from them.  Study a recipe and try to make it.

To become a better cook would require persistence.  I would not instantly be where I want to be.  Some things won’t work.  Why didn’t they work?  Try again!

I think Godliness must become an ingrained standard for the believer.  I will be that!  Be quick to notice deviation.  Be ready to get back on the “horse.”

The level of Godliness has plenty to do with what is going through my mind.  Can I go hours without a thought of Him and still consider myself Godly?

There are so many opportunities in each day to think a quick prayer and offer it.  “Bless those children walking to school.”

I like to have Scripture in my head ready to think/say.  “Husbands in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life SO that nothing will hinder your prayers – 1 Peter 3:7.”  Any married males out there must have that verse ready at all times!

“Lord, You are my God.  Help me to elevate my Godliness.  I have so much to learn.  Teach me, I pray.  I desperately want to rightly represent You in my midst.  Help me, I pray.”

Are you the Godly person you used to be?  Which direction is the change going?

+10 too high

hw-727

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Peter

Comments are closed.