We are all in this together

“All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags.”  Isaiah 64:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 63-64, Psalm 107, and John 2.

None of us are on the outside looking in.  We are all a mess.

The Good News is that the mess we have been, are, and will be have been taken care of.

When Jesus died on the cross He took our sins (past/present/future) with Him.  Jesus was brought back to life by His Father.  The sins stayed dead.

So the burden of sin is gone.  We, therefore, all have new life.  A life from that burden.  “My chains are gone.  I am set free.  My God, my Savior has ransomed me.”

What is our part?  We have to believe the Good News and live accordingly.

It is hard to imagine that some folks don’t see any reason why they should believe the Good News.  They’re good people.  They’ve done this.  They’ve done that.  God must have noticed and will treat them accordingly.  NOT according to this verse.  “All our righteous acts are like filthy rags.”  That’s harsh.  There is no need to approach God with our righteousness.  He has already provided a way for our sins to be taken care of.  It’s a done deal!  There’s no waiting for it to happen.  It happened several thousand years ago.

“Thank You, Father, for the Good News.  Thank You for taking care of my sin problem.  Thank You for the new life I have.  Direct my path.  I want to rightly represent You wherever I am.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

You’ve heard the Good News.  Will you accept it and act accordingly?

hw-731

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.