Will you go all in?

“The king stood by his pillar and renewed the covenant in the presence of the Lord – to follow the Lord, and keep his commands, statutes and decrees with all his heart and all his soul, and to obey the words of the covenant written in this book.”  2 Chronicles 34:31.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Kings 22, 2 Chronicles 34, and John 6.

Josiah goes all in.

Nothing half-hearted about the young king’s intentions.

Josiah vowed in public to do whatever God wanted Him to do.  He vowed to obey everything that was in the Book of the Laws.

Josiah might not be able to always obey everything but he committed before others to try to.

What is the level of your commitment to God?  What is mine?  Are we intent on doing what He wants?

I read today’s verse and was impressed by not only the level of Josiah’s commitment but his willingness to let everyone know about it.

How easy it is to have a “private” trust in God.  A “private” willingness to please Him.  No repercussions when things start sliding.  Josiah wouldn’t have that luxury.  People knew what he had promised.

I must fully commit myself to God.  I can’t help but think that in my case it can’t be a one-and-done commitment.  I must at least do it daily.

What would happen if I declared daily at the start of the day that I was committing myself to God?  What if those in my midst were alerted by me of my commitment?  I could have myself be accountable.

“Lord, I surrender this day to You.  Help me to renew that commitment as often as it takes for it to affect the way I live.  I want to please You.  Help me, Lord.”

Could you commit to God the way Josiah did?  God wants nothing less.

hw-84

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.