Are you too preoccupied to hear God?

“Whoever belongs to God hears what God says.  The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God.”  John 8:47.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Habakkuk 1-3, and John 8.

Am I intent on hearing from God?

Do I put myself in positions to hear from Him?

I must be doing what He wants me doing.  Why then wouldn’t I do everything possible to hear His instructions?

Some of the spiritual dry spells in my life are when I am distracted from God.  People visit and the conversations and the activities are vigorous and time consuming.  Seldom is God a consideration.

After it is all over, I wonder how I could comfortably spend time that way.  Not that the time wasn’t pleasurable but that God didn’t appear to have any part in it.

However, having prayed before the visit and prayed during the visit it may well be that I have personal expectations that are not part of God’s plan.

Today’s chosen verse is centered on LISTENING to God.  That doesn’t involve my words or my expectations.

If I am always listening, or in a position to listen, He can and will speak to me.  He will direct my path in His way.

What a God we have!

“Lord, forgive me for trying to direct Your path.  I must be tuned to You.  My hearing must be sharp.  Remove the obstacles in my life that mute Your interactions with me.  Thank You for Your protection last night.  Fill me with an awareness of You, I pray.”

Can God get through to you or are you too preoccupied?

hw-86

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.