Excuses, excuses!

“’Alas, Sovereign Lord,’ I said, ‘I do not know how to speak; I am too young.’”  Jeremiah 1:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 1-2, and John 10.

God told Jeremiah that he was going to be a prophet.

Jeremiah did a quick self-assessment and used the best excuse he could think of that would keep him from being a prophet.

We are a people of excuses.  Why?  Because we choose to contemplate tasks godlessly.

When God heard Jeremiah’s “age” excuse His response was quick: “Do not be afraid.  I will be with you.”

I think of the times I have left Godly gatherings on a spiritual high but before too long I am done in by obstacles I face.

If you asked me before I left the Godly gathering if I trusted God I would assure you that I did.  But what happens?  It is as if God stayed at the gathering and I went my own way without Him.

I need God with me full-time.  That applies to whether I am at a Godly gathering or elsewhere.

I have His Holy Spirit.  Why do I function so often as if I don’t?

I sympathize with Jeremiah because I hear me when I read his response to God.  I must remember that God empowers those He loves.  God is with those He loves, and who love Him, no matter where they are.

Too often I think an excuse and then limit what I could have done for Him.  That has got to stop!

“Lord, forgive me for my excuses.  I can do anything You want me to do in Your strength.  Forgive me for majoring in my strength and minoring in Your’s.  You are a great God.  I love You, Father.”

In His strength there isn’t a task we can’t do.

+12 too high

hw-88

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Comments are closed.