Have you reached the know-it-all level?

“The wise will be put to shame; they will be dismayed and trapped.  Since they have rejected the word of the Lord, what kind of wisdom do they have?”  Jeremiah 8:9.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 7-8, and John 13.

Just when you start to think that you know something, a verse like this one shows up!

Seriously, the more a believer knows, the more they realize that there’s plenty more to be learned.

The scary believers are the ones who are absolutely certain that confusing Scriptures for others are not a problem for them.  They have figured things out.

Sadly, this verse chooses to differ.

However, this verse is going after those who gather their wisdom apart from God.  The Lord is not in any of their “equations.”

They think that they have figured things out but they haven’t.  Their understanding of anything has limitations because they have left God out.

Understand however, that believers also lack understanding when they look for answers apart from God.

I find it easy to pontificate.  I will take a simple Bible truth and stretch it to my own liking.  I get pretty confident that my conclusions are right.  As the “balloon” gets more and more air you can predict that a large popping is coming eventually.  And it does, when I am attached to God.

“Lord, teach me Your ways.  Any wisdom I have comes from You.  Forgive me for rushing off on my own.  I do not know the way I should be on.  Thank You for loving me.  Fill me with You.”

Real wisdom comes with God attached.

hw-811

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Comments are closed.