Afraid to ask?

“Thomas said to him, ‘Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?’”  John 4:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 10-12, and John 14.

Jesus was not always easy to understand.  Even those closest to Him had questions.

Thomas asks a question as part of today’s chosen verse.

I sense Thomas’ frustration.  Jesus has just said that they (disciples) know the way to where He’s going.  Thomas believes that he doesn’t know that.

Important to me is Thomas’ willingness to ask a question.  How often do we not know something yet act as if we do by our silence?

Believers must be a questioning group.  “We’ve always done things this way,” should not be an obstacle to raising a question about it.

The beauty for the believer is that we know that God has the answer to our question before we even ask it!

There are times in Scripture where Jesus got frustrated with the Pharisees.  The Pharisees thought that they had all the answers, yet they didn’t.  The questions they asked Jesus were attempts to entrap Him.

If I am going to trust the Lord I must start by asking Him what He wants me doing.  When I launch off into a day on my own I am asking for trouble.  I don’t know the way!

“Lord, I ask for Your guidance.  I ask that You will keep a tight rein on me so that I get where You want me getting.  Too often I have assumed that my way was Your way…….without asking.  Bad idea on my part!  Guide me O thou great Jehovah.”

If you aren’t asking God for answers, how do you know if you’re doing what He wants?hw-812

 

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.