The value of trusting God

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.  They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream.  It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green.  It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”  Jeremiah 17:7-8.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 17-18, Psalm 96, and John 16.

This verse is part of a wonderful song by Twila Paris.

What makes me uncertain?  Things that go on around me that I cannot control.

Sometimes trouble is very significant.  I am not sure I will get through it.

BUT God is a consistent source of strength to those of us who are rooted in Him.

If our “root system” is good enough we won’t fear no matter what happens.  We know that God is with us.

There is a myth that if we trust in God we won’t have any more trouble.  That is a lie!  Trouble will come BUT God is there with the believer as it happens.

We can be confident in Him.

I must be sure that I am doing everything I can to be deeply rooted in Him.  Things such as prayer, Bible study, Christian fellowship, and church attendance will help strengthen me spiritually.

“Lord, my roots are shallow at times because trouble throws my off.  I want to have the Godly strength to hold up in any situation.  To fully trust You.  Help me, Father.  Have Your way with me, I beg.”

Are you bothered by a lot of things?  Good be a faulty root system.

Today’s entry starts my 7th year doing this blog and means that I have read through the Bible six times.  The more I read the Bible the more I am conscious of how little I know about the Bible.  God must be in this activity or it is a waste of time.  Pray for me, would you?

hw-814

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Comments are closed.