Always

“Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.”  Psalm 105:4.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 45-47, Psalm 105, and John 21.

You love someone you think about them a lot.

I am more and more convinced that we kid ourselves into thinking that we love God.

I think that we could more accurately describe our relationship to Him as “interested.”  We also have an interest in the weather, what we’ll wear today, and what we’ll be eating.

I mentioned yesterday that I am back into Brother Lawrence’s book called, “The Practice of the presence of God.”  His relationship to God was not a casual one like many of ours are.  It was as full-time as he could make it.

Today’s verse follows the BL theme when it ends with the word, “always.”  It doesn’t say, “on Sunday morning,” or, “at Bible study,” or, “when you have devotions.”  This is an entirely different kind of relationship than most of us are having.

If I/you claim to love God, why don’t we think of Him more often?  Do you want the answer?  We don’t love God as much as we think we do.  Our relationship with Him is casual.

The Holy Spirit does not leave believers.  What happens is that believers choose to ignore His presence.  Other things get their “love” and they act accordingly.

“Lord, keep me mindful of You.  Forgive me for chasing other things other than You.  I want You dominating me.  Alert me when I forget about You so that I can change.  I want You always!”

What is the “temperature” on your love for God?

hw-819

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.