Staying clean

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 48-49, Psalm 67, and 1 John 1.

If I am in love with someone, I will always want that relationship to be on the best of terms.

I don’t want anything lessening the interactive love.

Therefore, when sin happens I need to do something about it.  My sin, first of all, is against God.  So I need to clear things with Him.  Then my sin is against someone else so I need to make things right with them.

The burden of my sins was taken care of once and for all when Jesus took all sin to death.

Sin still happens.  I may be clean but that doesn’t mean that I can’t still fall into the mud.

The key is to recognize sin and get it cleaned up.

If my relationship to God is tight, I will sin less than I will if it is not.

Struggles come when I ignore God.  How foolish of me to do that!  I have God, via His Holy Spirit, within me.  He’s not far away.  He’s with me right now.

I can easily ignore someone who is not in my midst but how can I ignore someone in the same room?  The Holy Spirit is within me!

More Brother Lawrence: I need to be constantly aware of God in my midst.  That awareness can lead to frequent thought-conversations with Him.  To go a length of time ignoring Him should be unsettling.

If I am tuned into Him, with thankfulness and in seeking guidance, things will go as they should.

“Lord, make me mindful of You constantly.  Reveal to me my sins so that I can respond to them.  Fill me with Your love in all situations.  Let me NOT be Godly on my own terms but rather on Your terms.”

Stay clean with God and those in your midst.

hw-820

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 John

Comments are closed.