We’ll wipe out believers!

“They said in their hearts, ‘We will crush them completely!’  They burned every place where God was worshiped in the land.”  Psalm 74:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 33-34, Psalm 74, and 1 John 5.

If your church was destroyed would you be finished as a believer?  I would certainly hope not.

Throughout the world there are believers without churches.  Many meet in houses.  Some must do this very secretly.

When believing in God comes without risk, it turns into lazy faith.  A faith with minimal commitment.

If the US turned violently anti-Christian many would fall away from faith.

The tragedy in the US is that Christianity is tolerated yet many are falling away from faith.

I dare say that the “brand” of Christianity offered in many churches is unpalatable.  It doesn’t take over one’s life.  It’s a “suit of clothes” that can be worn or not worn depending on one’s mood.

I have read that Christianity is growing rapidly in China despite the government’s attempts to lessen its influence.

Maybe there will come a day in the US in which the government will unintentionally find ways to loosen the chaff from the wheat among believers.

How sure is our relationship to God?  Are we all-weather or fair-weather believers?

“Lord, I have Your Spirit within me.  Forgive me for living as if You don’t exist.  You have the words and thoughts that I need.  You know the path that my life should be on.  Open my eyes/ears to You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Could persecution of believers in the US be a good thing?

hwfm-824

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.