Start the morning right

“Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You.  Show me the way I should go, for to You I entrust my life.  Rescue me from my enemies, Lord, for I hide myself in You.  Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; may Your good Spirit lead me on level ground.”  Psalm 143:8-10.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 52, Revelations 1, and Psalm 143-144.

I had these verses on my every-day recitation list but they slid through the cracks.

I know that last time through (the Bible) I took note of them and chose them.

David gives us the ingredients for covering the day in the best possible way.

We start the day with Him and then let Him take us through the rest of the day.

How easy it is to let go of His presence.  We just get self-confident and before long we’re in trouble.  Happened to me today.  I started the day with a “routine” hold on Him and was soon loose and detached from Him when a problem came along.  Before I knew it a problem spark had become a problem bonfire!

Thankfully, the Holy Spirit kept putting thoughts into my head about how I had messed things up. I knew that I had to do some serious backtracking and I finally got into a position to do just that and restored a relationship.  Thank You, Lord!

I must have the presence of God throughout each day from beginning to end.  That connection must be strong so that I will not let go when rough waters roll in.

“Lord, help me.  I need You every second.  Forgive me for getting loose from You.  Thank You for Your Holy Spirit.  Keep prodding me when I stray.  I want my relationship to You to be tight and ongoing.  Thank You, Lord.”

Lock in to God at the get-go of each day.

hwfm-827

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.