Whitewashing reality

“Because they lead my people astray saying, ‘Peace,’ when there is no peace, and because, when a flimsy wall is built, they cover it with whitewash, therefore tell those who cover it with whitewash that it is going to fall.”  Ezekiel 13:10-11.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 12-14, and Revelation 5.

God is condemning false prophets.  They told the folks in Jerusalem that they would be spared from trouble.  They wouldn’t be and in fact would soon be destroyed or in exile.

I was at a Franklin Graham prayer rally on the Boston Common yesterday.  Not being from the city, I couldn’t help but notice all the people going to who knows where moving along in their own worlds.  I thought of that as I was thinking about these verses.  People caught up in themselves unaware of what is really going on.

The things of God do not interest them.  Things will work out.  They have their own little concerns to concentrate on.

BUT God will not be ultimately ignored.  There will come a time when those who have acted according to the Good News will be separated from those who have chosen not to believe the Good News.

So many in downtown Boston saw no need to be praying together to God.  To asking God for His direction in the future of the United States.  They were “whitewashing” their future.  How sad!  How unfortunate!

But what can I do about it?  I can intercede for them.  I can stand in the gap for them.  I can stand in the breach for them.

“Lord, forgive me for whitewashing the reality that many have not believed the Good News.  O Father, open hearts to You.  Enable me to rightly represent You wherever I am today.  I love You, Lord.”

God will not be ignored.  Practice His presence.

hwfm-831

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.