Praise without ceasing

“Praise the Lord.  I will extol the Lord with all my heart in the council of the upright and in the assembly.”  Psalm 111:1.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 20-21, Psalm 111, and Revelation 8.

This is something else moving into the “unceasing” category.

We know that we are to pray without ceasing.  How about praising Him without ceasing?

I do not believe that we will run out of things to say in either category if we’re thinking straight.

We have so much to praise God for.  It is a travesty that we take His good gifts for granted with so little recognition of Who was responsible for them.

The key thing for me that I pulled from this verse is that I need to be actively praising Him no matter who I am with.

No question it can be awkward to praise God in the midst of those who have chosen to ignore God.

BUT what is my excuse when I am in the midst of believers.  I was at a prayer meeting recently and there was a flood of prayer requests but only a trickle of praises.  How could that be? We were not noticing His doings in our midst.  Shame on us!

Back this goes to my actual relationship to God.  If I am close to Him, I will be more aware of what He is doing.  It’s that simple!

“Father, forgive me for failing to speak of Your goodness in my midst.  It is not that there aren’t plenty of examples of Your marvelous doings!  You are an amazing God.  I thank You for the opportunity to read, study, and write about Your Word.  I thank You for a working computer and time and space to tell others about You.  I love You, Father.”

Are we close enough to God to be aware of His goodness?

hwfm-93

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.