Why should I pray for people?

“I looked for someone among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so that I would not have to destroy it, but I found no one.”  Ezekiel 22:30.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 22-24, and Revelation 9.

This verse is so amazing and I suspect that I have used it every time I have come to reading Ezekiel 22-24.

Think of it; God is waiting for us to take action!

How often do we assume that God is one place and we are somewhere else or that God is going to do whatever He wants and I must reverently live with His choices?

This verse says otherwise.  God can wipe out anyone He wants at any time but He can be persuaded not to.

In the background to the passage, Jerusalem’s wickedness has driven God to destroy that city. However, it didn’t have to be that way.  All God is looking for is someone to speak out to Him about saving Jerusalem instead of destroying it.  But sadly there is no one stepping up to do it and destruction will come.

I was just wondering how many people have been spared because I have stood in the gap for them.  I have pleaded with God to extend their lives.  Some are young and some are old.  Many need to receive the Good News and live according.  But it hasn’t happened for some and so my request for them is more time and more opportunity to connect with God’s Good News.

Moses stood in the breach for Israel.  God was ready to destroy them but Moses asked that they be spared and that was what happened.

It’s powerful stuff for sure.  My conversations with God must include “gap” requests.  I know from today’s verse that God is listening.  What a blessing that is!

“Lord, so many in my family ignore/reject You.  I stand in the gap for them.  Give them time and opportunity to get to know that their sin problem was dealt with when Jesus died.  They are in the clear with You.  They have new life.  Enable them to realize this I pray.  Thank You for Your Word.  Thank You for your love.”

Do you dare to neglect to stand in the gap for godless family members?

hwfm-94

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.