Because you think you are wise………

“Because you think you are wise, as wise as a god, I am going to bring……..” Ezekiel 28:6-7.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 25-28, and Revelation 10.

God is unimpressed with competition, even competition that has no chance against Him.

Here He deals with a place (Tyre) that became rich and wise in its own eyes.

The wiser believers get the more they realize their need for God.  With Tyre, their wisdom was faulty because it was leading them away from God.

It is an ongoing battle to stay humble.  We are so determined to elevate ourselves to smartness.  “We’ve figured things out.”  Baloney!  We are at God’s mercy.  He raises up.  He tears down on His own impulse.

I must constantly declare my dependence on Him.  He must be in complete charge of me.  Other arrangements lead away from Him and outside of His divine plans for me.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for ever believing I can live rightly representing You while I am on my own.  It will never happen.  It is indeed a mistake and a clear indication of spiritual backsliding.  I surrender to You.  Take me over entirely.  Prick my conscience when I mess this up.  I love You, Lord.”

Because we thought we were wise we became fools.

hwfm-95

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.