Trust God only

“Egypt will no longer be a source of confidence for the people of Israel but will be a reminder of their sin in turning to her for help. Then they will know that I am the Sovereign Lord.”  Ezekiel 29:16.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 29-32, and Revelation 11.

There is no mistaking it: God is a jealous God.

If you’ve missed that about God, I will assume that you have not read the Old Testament.

Over and over again God notices Israel’s departures from Him.

Over and over again He does things to show that He is the One they should be trusting for everything.

When Israel feared an invasion from Babylon they turned to Egypt for help.  God noticed!

Egypt’s demise at the hands of the Babylonians was to clarify to Israel that they had misplaced their trust by seeking Egypt’s help.  What should Israel have done?  Put their trust in God.

This all can pass as a nice story but it is certainly more than that.  Where’s my trust placed?  Where do I turn when unsettled times come?  Am I any different than Israel?

I note in particular that God took away what Israel was trusting in place of Him.  Is that a warning for us?  I suspect it is.  I am a believer.  I have professed my complete trust in Him.  If that trust begins to be located in other things, should I be surprised if those “other things” begin to crumble?  I think not!

“Lord, my trust is in You.  Forgive me for trying to find what I have in You in other places.  It’s not there!  You are the ultimate solid rock.  Prick my conscience when my trust shifts so that I can change quickly.  You are my God.  There must be no other.”

If you are a believer and showing trust in things apart from God………..beware!

hwfm-96

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.