Trouble ahead for sure

“But they mocked God’s messengers, despised his words and scoffed at his prophets until the wrath of the Lord was aroused against his people and there was no remedy.”  2 Chronicles 36:16.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Kings 25, 2 Chronicles 36, Jeremiah 40-41, and Revelation 12.

There are folks who operate in ignorance about God.  They just haven’t sorted out what He is all about.

Then there are those who do know about God, and what He’s about, and who willfully reject Him at every level.  Those folks are the ones being spoken of in today’s chosen verse.

God loved Israel and had done amazing things on their behalf in their history but He is also willing to punish them when they disobey Him.  The usual pattern of sin/punishment/repentance is not happening in this case.  The sinning is but the threatened punishment is not serving as a deterrent.  The Israelites ignore the warnings and have no interest in changing their ways.

God uses Nebuchadnezzar to exact a very serious punishment (exile) on them.

In the United States and elsewhere we have many who live in ignorance of God.  They aren’t interested in discerning what God is about but they aren’t hostile to God in their thinking.

We have others who have heard about God and have become zealots in their opposition to Him.  They know what God wants from them (total surrender) and they deliberately rebel against doing that.  They do not fear God.

Both groups need to know the Good News of what God has done for them.

Based on today’s verse I can’t help but be especially concerned for the fate of the anti-God zealots.  When God’s anger is aroused against them their judgment will be severe, I suspect.

My goal in life must be to please God at all levels.  I must seek His direction for my life and align myself to His wishes.

“Lord, forgive me for missing so much of what You want me to do.  Guide me, I beg.  Reveal to me the errors of my way so that I can repent and change direction.  You know what is best.  I totally surrender to You now.  Open the hearts of those in my midst who are misled about what Your Good News means.  They need You.”

You don’t want to fall into the hands of an angry God, do you?  Take His Good News as fact and live accordingly.

hwfm-97

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.