You are never out of God’s reach

“’See, I will make you small among the nations; you will be utterly despised.  The pride of your heart has deceived you, you who live in the clefts of the rocks and make your home on the heights, you who say to yourself, ‘Who can bring me down to the ground?’  Though you soar like the eagle and make your nest among the stars, from there I will bring you down,’ declares the Lord.” Obadiah 1:2-4.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Lamentations 1-2, Obadiah, and Revelation 14.

That was embarrassing!  I somehow managed to forget entirely to do this blog yesterday.  I assumed later in the day that I had done it earlier and the whole thing fell through the cracks.

Today Obadiah brings the bad news to Edom: Their location is not going to save them from destruction.

How easily we put our trust in things other than God.

If you want to find out what some of those “things” are just review the way you behave.  What gets you angry?  Generally, it involves something that you are going to have to do without.  That “something” is likely to be a counterfeit god for you.  When you have “that” then you’re happy.  When you don’t you aren’t.

Edom thought that they were safe from trouble because they lived in elevated places.  Obadiah informed them that it wasn’t going to make any difference.  God would be able to get them and punish them.

Edom’s trust in their location was a counterfeit god for them.  God was not stopped by Edom’s location.

My complete trust must be in Him.  If I am walking close to Him I will not be creating counterfeit gods.  I don’t need them because I have Him!

“Lord, I thank You for the opportunity to read and study Your Word and later to write about it.  Thank You for the accountability it forces on me.  I need You.”

God will have His way with you.

hwfm-99

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Obadiah

Comments are closed.