Our problems may be big BUT God is bigger!

“He (Daniel) urged them to plead for mercy from the God of heaven….” Daniel 2:18.

“…You have made known to me what we asked of you.” Daniel 2:23.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Daniel 1-2, and Revelation 16.

Daniel and his friends were in trouble.  The king had a dream and wanted the dream interpreters to tell him what his dream was as well as an interpretation.  “No one can do that,” said the dream interpreters.  Upset by this response, the king decided that all of the dream interpreters should be killed.

Daniel and his friends were among those to be killed.

I like what Daniel did in response to their dire situation: He prayed and urged his friends to pray as well.

And they did what prayer warriors must do, they begged for God’s help.

I like that Daniel was quick to credit God with giving him the help needed.

On the 15th anniversary of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attack, it is easy to imagine millions of believers on that afternoon pleading with God for mercy.  It was certainly a time when many of the counterfeit gods fell by the wayside and the true God was the One appealed to for help.

That God is still needed.  We live in a world that only the insane imagine they have complete control of.  God is in charge but Satan is still on the loose.  We are not immune to danger but we have a God on our side who will never be overmatched versus Satan.  Our trust must be in Him for our safety and our future.

“Lord, You are running things.  I want to do exactly what You want me to do.  Direct my path.  Prick my conscience when I stray from Your Ways.  Thanks for stories, like Daniel’s, about Your miraculous interventions.  No situation in the world, no matter how dire, is beyond Your touch.  Help me to trust You completely, I beg.”

God is not over-matched against any of the problems you face.  You don’t follow a small God, do you?

hw-911

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daniel

Comments are closed.