Ezekiel gets it right

“He (God) asked me (Ezekiel), ‘Son of man, can these bones live:’ I said, ‘Sovereign Lord, you alone know.’”  Ezekiel 37:3.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 36-37, Psalm 110, and Revelation 19.

What’s not to like in Ezekiel’s response.

I am quickly reminded of Jesus asking the disciples how they were going to feed the crowd in a New Testament story.

Where does my strength come from?

In the case of the disciples, they insisted on looking at the logistics’ nightmare through their own eyes.

Ezekiel, on the other hand, knows that the answer sought is beyond him.  Not only that, Ezekiel states the only God has the answer needed.

How easily I/we forget the Ultimate Source and opt for an assortment of lesser gods.

I believe that we get that way because we forget the Ultimate Source in the little things of our lives.  We get used to living without Him so when something significant comes our way we do what we’ve been doing…………ignoring God.

I need to have a 24/7, tight relationship with God.

I must not leave Him out of the “little” things in my life.

I must be quick to seek Him.

I must realize that He is in my midst.  Why would I be disrespectful of Him by abandoning His presence?

“Lord, Your patience is beyond belief.  Forgive me for testing that patience by my reliance on anything other than You.  I want You in charge full-time.  Prick my conscience when I am messing things up.  I want to please You in everything.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

In God we trust?  Full-time?

hw-914

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.