God was, and will be, more than we can imagine

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.”  Revelation 22:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 42-44, and Revelation 22.

There are Scriptures that I can’t understand.  They’re written in English but that doesn’t help me to grasp them.

In today’s chosen verse God is described as the beginning and the end.  I am left wondering what was before the beginning and what will be after the end.

I won’t be figuring those things out, I suspect.

There is a graspable truth, however.  God is beyond anything I can imagine.  I don’t have the firepower to figure Him out.

I get the sense, in reading Revelation, that John was equally overwhelmed by what he was told.  He wrote what he heard but wasn’t clear as to what it all meant.  I take comfort in that.

God has done marvelous things.  God will do more marvelous things.  My task is to get right what He wants me to do now and in the future.

I saw a remarkable full moon last night.  That was God’s doing.  He gave me the eyesight.  He put the moon in place where I could see it.  And yet, I see through a glass dimly!

“Lord, You are amazing.  Forgive me for ever minimizing Your magnitude.  Nothing overwhelms You.  What You have done and what You will do are beyond my comprehension.  I want to be part of what You are doing now and in the future.  Direct me in that direction, I beg.  I love You, Lord.”

God is more than You can imagine.  Recognize who He is and live accordingly.

hw-917

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Revelation

Comments are closed.