I am willing to do what You want

“’I am the Lord’s servant,’ Mary answered. ‘May your word to me be fulfilled.’” Luke 1:38.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 45-46, and Luke 1.

Mary took things a step further than most of us will have to do.  She knew what was going to happen and still was all in.

We can profess our willingness and then see what that leads to.  She knew the potential trouble ahead.  We don’t.

Her “I am the Lord’s servant” commitment is role model material of the highest level.

How often do we act as if God is our co-worker?  We tell God (in prayer) to do this and that.  We inform God (in prayer) of where He is needed.  Where there’s work for Him to do.  What are we thinking!

Mary doesn’t try to refine what God has planned for her.  She doesn’t laugh the way Sarah did when she found out that she would bear a child.  She gets it right.

And we need to get this right.  A servant waits.  A servant doesn’t offer suggestions.  They just willingly do what the Master wants them to do.

Could our problem with this be that we don’t hold God in the esteem He deserves?  Are we afraid of what might happen if we let Him run our lives?  Mary wasn’t and God blessed her.

“Lord, I am Your servant.  Teach me to act accordingly.  Forgive me for trying to run my own life in my own way.  Nothing Godly will come from that arrangement.  You know best.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah, I beg.”

Will you be God’s servant?  That is the best arrangement a believer can have with God.

hw-918

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.