Where did I lose Jesus?

“When they did not find him, they went back to Jerusalem to look for him.  After three days they found him in the temple courts, sitting among the teachers.” Luke 2:45-46.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezekiel 47-48, and Luke 2.

In one part of these verses we have the reality that Jesus is among the missing.  In the other part, He is located.

Two questions: (1) Can we lose contact with Jesus? and (2) Do we know where to find Him?

No doubt to me that the answer to the first question is a resounding, “Yes!”  It happens to me way too often.  I read Brother Lawrence’s, “The Practice of the Presence of God,” and know for certain that I’m not there.  Far too much time goes by in which God gets beyond being even a distant memory.  I flat out lose track of Him.

Solution?  Picture Him being in my presence full-time.  Realize how disrespectful I am when I ignore Him.

How quickly can I find God when I’ve abandoned Him?  Upon realization, I must pray my brains/heart out begging to reunite with Him.  Oftentimes I have a layer of sludge to work through to restore my relationship to Him.  BUT it’s worth it!

Isn’t it true, that after you locate something valuable that you’ve lost, you find yourself mindful of that formerly lost item more frequently in the immediate future?

Slide God into this: If I often lose track of God, how do I dare to profess that He has great value to me?

“Father, I need You every second.  Forgive me for “losing” You so easily.  You are valuable to me.  You are my God.  Prick my conscience when I get loose from You.  I love You, Lord.”

How can we live unaware of God’s presence?

hw-919

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.