I can’t wait!

“I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.”  Psalm 130:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Daniel 5-6, Psalm 130, and Luke 3.

For those of us who are impatient, this is a tough one.

Waiting is not easy.  Try driving in a busy area.  Try standing in a long line.  Try calling the cable company!

Nothing like any of that imagined in today’s verse.  Here the waiting is for God.  Here, within the waiting period, is time to reflect on God’s Word.

That brings me to thoughts such as: (1) If God is in charge, then waiting is part of His plan, and (2) If patience is something I need to learn, then getting a chance to practice it makes perfect sense.

I have started to carry Bible verses on cards with me wherever I go.  I make reference to them when I take my daily walk.  I also have them with me when I have to wait.  They come in handy!

God wants me to be a Godly waiter.  He wants me to be ready/willing to serve Him.  I desperately need to tune in to His wishes.  My ways are not His ways.  I don’t acquire the ability to get things right without Him.  I will always need Him for directions.

“Lord, forgive my impatience.  You have what I need to be patient.  Overtake me with Your Holy Spirit.  If I am in Your Will, I will be able to wait with Godliness.  Help me, Father, I beg.”

The closer I am to God the more patient I will be.

hw-920

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.