My words expose my heart

“The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart.  For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”  Luke 6:45.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Daniel 11-12, and Luke 6.

An obvious truth…….but a painful one.

What would a replay sound like of a day’s worth of words that I have spoken?  I’m guessing that there are a least a few that I wish I’d never said.  How about you?

What I must remember is that what I speak reveals the condition of my heart.  That is troubling because my inclination is to think that unkind words are a minor issue.  Not so!  They are indicative of something wrong with me that needs addressing.

Before those unkind words were spoken I was under the illusion that my heart was right with God.  It wasn’t right with God or those unkind words would never have happened.

I have written this many times: A serious problem for me is reacting to things.  Give me time to prepare for something and I’ll usually do better than if I can’t prepare.  BUT why is this so?  My answer is that my walk with God is not always what I think it is.   I am floating along unaware that I am adrift from Him.  A situation comes up and the awareness of my disconnected state reveals itself.

Solution: My relationship to God must be full-time.  Drifting apart from Him is sin because it is a conscious thing whether I will admit it or not.  I allow something to jump into the “God spot” my life’s center and He is put on the outside looking in.

I believe that we are like a sponge in that we soak up what we immerse ourselves in.  When we get squeezed by life, the drops that fall out are what we really are.

Immersing myself in Him will fill me with Him.  My words/deeds will reflect that immersion.

“Lord, I need You in everything and in every way.  Functioning apart from You is not an option.  Correct my ways.  I cede to You the run of my life.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah this day.”

What do our words reveal about us?

hm-77

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.