Jesus demonstrates

“When the Lord saw her, his heart went out to her……” Luke 7:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezra 1, Psalm 84, and Luke 7.

As a believer, how am I supposed to live?

We want to live the way God would want us to live.  We want to be able to rightly represent Him in our midst.

So, how’s that done?  The Bible tells me.  If you want to know what God is like, look at Jesus.

I want to know how to live pleasing Him so I watch what He did in the Bible accounts and try and live accordingly.

In today’s verse, we see how Jesus reacted to the adversity of someone else.  A young man was being taken out to be buried.  His mother was part of the procession.  Jesus came upon this scene and look how he reacted: His heart went out to her.

Jesus knew what to do.  He immediately felt badly for the woman.  He didn’t just slow down and let the funeral procession go past Him.  He stopped and paid attention to someone in need.

That young man was raised from the dead by Jesus.  Just imagine what a scene that must have been!

There are often people in need in my midst.  Many of them I don’t know personally but I can see, or read about, their misfortune.  How should a Godly person react to things such as this?  Again, Jesus is the ultimate role model.  He felt their need in His heart.

One responsive thing I can certainly do is to pray.  Today there was a fatal shooting in a mall in Burlington, Washington.  That’s not in my midst, I know, but it came into my “midst” via the internet.  I pray for the families connected to the tragedy.  I pray for the care-givers that are there in that mall.  I must not just look at that news and immediately move on wondering instead when the Red Sox are playing today.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word.  Thank You for examples of proper Godly behavior.  Enable me to see the needs in my midst as You do and to react to them in as Jesus did.  I need all the help in this area that You can give me!  I love You, Father.  Enable me to show Your love in my midst.”

How did Jesus react to people in need?

hw-may-30

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.