The Devil is real

“Those along the path are the ones who hear, and then the devil comes and takes away the word from their hearts, so that they may not believe and be saved.”  Luke 8:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ezra 2-3, and Luke 8.

I have to tie today’s verse with James 4:7: “Submit yourselves, then, to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”

Jesus references the culprit in today’s verse.  It is the Devil.

Think of all the people you and I know who have heard the Good News and yet have chosen not to act accordingly.  For whatever reason, the Good News hasn’t led to appropriate action.  They live as if the Good News didn’t happen.

How can this be?  The Devil gets in their head, as he did to Adam and Eve, and before you know it they are turning against God’s wishes.

God offers a burden-free life free from sin’s guilt and the Devil tells them that it isn’t true.  Tells them that their lives will be messed up if they accept the news.  You’ll lose your friends, etc., etc..

Some folks get past it.  They hear the Good News that Jesus/God have taken care of their sin problem, and that they now have a new life to live, and choose to get on board.  Hallelujah for them!

The sadness if for those listening to Satan’s lies and turning away from the Good News.

I believe in intercession.  I must intercede constantly for those in my midst resistant to the Good News.  I must bind Satan in their lives so that they may be able to clearly see what God is offering them.

“Lord, protect new believers I beg.  Open hearts to know and accept Your Good News.  Keep Satan away from those in my midst.  I ask these things in Your Name.  The Name that has power over the Devil.  Drive him away, I pray.”

We must pray Satan away from those who have not believed the Good News.

hm-72

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.