Do I walk past those I could help?

“And who is my neighbor?”  Luke 10:29.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Haggai 1-2, Psalm 129, and Luke 10.

You know the story: A man is injured and two pass by and another stops to help.  Obviously, the one offering help is acting in a “neighborly” way in the story Jesus tells.

We often think of “neighbors” as those who live nearby.  We would surely try to help them if there was a problem and they would probably do the same for us.

The “neighbor” in Jesus’ story does not live nearby but he BECOMES nearby.  And what a difference that makes!

We are not always in our homes.  We work or we travel away from our homes.  In those locations, away from home, are where we are going to run into the “neighbor” of this story.

I have mentioned this before: I have difficulty being Godly in reacting situations.  Give me time to plan and I’ll usually get things right.  My quick responses are not what they should be.

I picture myself at the end of a day tired as I come across someone in need.  “I have other things to do,” I tell myself to avoid helping.  “My wife is expecting me,” I say to pile on justification.  And past the place where I could have helped I go.

Life has two parts: God’s part and my part.  God is flawless.  He gets it right every time.  It is my part where the mess-up always is.  I must do what is right.

I constantly ask God to “draw me nearer,” or “teach me.”  Why I am trying to get God to do what I must do?

I need to move to where He is.  I need to study rather than expecting Him to drop knowledge into my head while I wait.  Why have I been waiting for Him to do what I’m supposed to do.

Who is my neighbor?  Anyone God puts in my midst today.  I must be neighborly.

“Lord, forgive me of my laziness.  I am too ready to assign You to do things that You want me doing.  Help me to be spontaneously Godly today.  I thank You for Your instructions and examples within Your Word.  Thank You for Your Holy Spirit forever waiting for me to tune in and to learn to live as I should.  O Lord, I have so much to do better.”

Are we guilty of expecting God to do all the heavy lifting?

hw-927

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.