We are ingrates

“Jesus asked, ‘Were not all ten cleansed?  Where are the other nine?  Has no one returned to give praise to God except this foreigner?’” Luke 17:17-18.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Esther 1-2, Psalm 150, and Luke 17.

Appalling behavior to say the least.

Ten lepers healed by Jesus.  Only one returns to thank Jesus for it.

The ten lepers were told by Jesus to go where there were priests.  In order for them to even consider such a thing, they would have had to have been healed before they actually reached the priests.  Once the healings had been confirmed then they could have returned to Jesus.  Wonder why they didn’t return?

They may have run to their families and villages with the news and never got around to finding Jesus.

Maybe they were intimidated by Pharisees who refused to credit Jesus with healings.

If we added a penny every time we thanked God specifically, how long would it take us to accumulate a dollar?

If God added a penny every time He blessed us, how long would it take Him to accumulate a dollar?

We often treat Jesus the same way that the nine ingrates did.  He has given us every good gift we have.  Does He know that we are appreciative?  Let me answer for all of us, “Nowhere near as much as He deserves!”

Parents constantly insist that their children be thankful.  We love good manners.  BUT is their thanks just geared to what we and others in their midst, do for them?  Are we similarly stressing that they be thankful for what God does for them?  That’s a more troubling question I suspect.

If I am not actively thanking God, what am I doing instead?  I think that I am drifting along unmindful of Him.  That is not where I must be.

“Lord, thanking You should be an obvious thing that I do all the time.  Your gifts to me are uncountable.  Yet I drift along sometimes in an oblivious daze.  Forgive me.  You are a great God.  I praise You.”

The correlation between His blessings are our thankfulness is badly out of whack.

hw-104

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.