Are you hung-up on Him?

“Yet they could not find any way to do it, because all the people hung on his words.”  Luke 19:48.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Esther 9-10, and Luke 19.

Jesus had collected a hard-core of followers.  There also was a hard-core of folks who wanted Jesus killed.

Those who wanted Jesus killed would get their way at Calvary.  However, days later Jesus was back, undead, if you will.

Meanwhile, the hard-core followers in Luke 19 are hanging on every word He said.  They wanted to hear more.  They believed what He told me.  They stood in the midst of crowds where some wanted Jesus killed and listened intently.

What a crowd!  All of them listening intently but some getting one message while another group got a different message.  Reminds me of today’s political scene where a candidate speaks and one network’s commentators surmise one thing while another set of commentators on another network surmise the opposite.

How seriously do I take God’s Word?  Do I read it with intensity?  Am I “hanging” on His Word?

Writing has helped me pay better attention to His Word.  As I read I am looking for things to apply to my life.  I also bring on my commentaries to help me with parts of Scripture that I do not understand.

This is why Bible studies work well.  Scripture gets scrutinized.  Applications of Scripture are presented.

“Lord, I thank You for making Your Word available to me.  The more I read it the more I love it.  There is so much to it and always room to learn more.  Fill my head with Your Word.  You are a great God.”

Reading God’s Word intently is an indication that we realize that His voice is the best voice for us to listen to.

hw-106

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.