Carry out the obvious

“They all plotted together to come and fight against Jerusalem and stir up trouble against it.  But we prayed to our God and posted a guard day and night to meet this threat.”  Nehemiah 4:8-9.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Nehemiah 3-4, and Luke 22.

If a prophet of God had come to Nehemiah and told him that they didn’t need to guard against an invasion, then verse 9 would have been different.

How?  Guards would not have been posted because God was giving protection.

There is no prophet involved so after connecting with God the Jews carry out the obvious.

I have had that “carry out the obvious” theme running through my head for over a week.  Why?  Because I have a tendency to miss the obvious in my midst.  Instead of seeing that I can put away things in my office, I focus on something beyond the obvious.

I was just reading about Elisha and Naaman.  I love the servant in the story.  Naaman is offended that he’s told to dip in the dirty Jordan River to get rid of his leprosy.  Naaman wants to shun the obvious (dip in the Jordan) but the servant explains that the obvious is what is needed.

We ask God to bless us and then we wait idly for an answer, instead of carrying out the obvious while we wait.

Nehemiah connected with God and then went about the obvious; get guards in place.

“Lord, forgive me for missing the obvious.  What am I looking at!  I open every pore of my being to You.  Rid me of the sludge that blinds me to the obvious.  I love You, Father.”

Is there something obvious in your midst that you should be carrying out?

 

hw-1010

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.