Are you up-and-down with God?

“But as soon as they were at rest, they again did what was evil in your sight.  Then you abandoned them to the hand of their enemies so that they ruled over them.   And when they cried out to you again, you heard from heaven, and in your compassion you delivered them time after time.”  Nehemiah 9:28.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Nehemiah 9-10, and Acts 2.

Up and down.  Down and up.

At one point the Jews are close to God and another they’re messing things up.

It is certainly a lifestyle that I want to avoid.  I want to be consistent with God.  Wandering away from Him is folly.  Yet we all do it.

It is crucial to strive to be close to God at all times.  There is no better place to be.

Note the beginning of the verse where the implication is that when things are settled that is when we start to drift away from God.

You just get comfortable.  You start to think that you’ve figured life out and your future will be smooth.  It never works that way, does it?

My relationship must never be based on conditions.  I must be bonded to Him in all conditions.

I also know, from today’s verse, that He will take us back.  He certainly did it many times with the Jews.  Be sure to note that to get back with God the Jews repented of their sins.

Have you admitted to God that you did things that are wrong or do you assume that He’s okay with it?  How can He cleanse us of our sins if we won’t even own up to them?

“Lord, help me to be close to You.  I know that I must carry out the obvious things that You want.  Prick my conscience when I am wrong.  Drive me to repent.  I want a clean and clear relationship with You, the God I love.”

I beg for a consistent closeness to God.

hw-1013

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nehemiah

Comments are closed.