How are you at praising God?

“When they heard this, they raised their voices together in prayer to God, ‘Sovereign Lord,’ they said, ‘you made the heavens and the earth and the sea, and everything in them.’”  Acts 4:24.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Nehemiah 13, Malachi 1-2, and Acts 4.

Peter and John had just been released.  The news had reached their friends and followers.

WHEN the news reached them they declared who God was, thanking Him as they did this.

I believe that the opportunities for praising God cannot be numbered.  Yet we do it so infrequently.

Go to a prayer meeting.  The leader asked for reports that are praiseworthy.  Not much is said.  The leader asked for concerns.  Almost everyone has something to say.  What’s going on there?  We are more aware of what we don’t have than what we do have.

I need to see God’s Hand in my midst.  I can look at what’s on the top of my desk (It is a bit messy!) and find a bunch of praiseworthy things.  There’s a picture of my wife.  My saving book.  My car keys.  A part of my camera.  Cards that relate to my part-time job.  This computer.  I have a light.  I have a Bible.  There are reasons to thank God in all of them.  And I haven’t even left my desk area!

So the followers of Peter/John do a nice role-modeling job.  They praised God and they did it immediately.

I am called to account on the infrequency of my praises directed to God.  He deserves more from me.

“Lord, thank You for loving me and giving me so many good things.  I am indeed unworthy.  Forgive me for my lack of recognizing Your handiwork in my midst.  It is certainly there for me to see!  I praise You, Father.  Hallelujah.”

God has done plenty for us.  Are we noticing them?  Are we thanking Him for them?

hw-1015

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.