Remarkable Job

“’Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart.  The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.’ In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.”  Job 1:21-22.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 1-2, and Acts 6-7.

The disaster that struck Job is horrible: his wealth and his children gone in one day.  Job was very wealthy and he had ten children but in a day they’re gone.

How easily we get into the “Lord, why did You let this happen to me?” mode.  We credit God with being in charge however we expect that our lives will be pleasant.  Disasters shouldn’t happen to us.  But then something goes “unpleasant” and we question God.  “Why did You let this happen?”, we ask doubtfully.  He was supposed to be taking care of us the way we wanted but wasn’t.

Job does none of this!  He declares that he had nothing when he was born and won’t be taking anything with him when he dies.  He refused to blame God for what had happened.

My trust in God must be at Job’s level.  I must know that He is right in all that He does.  The material is terminal.  If I am in His will then what comes along will be the best thing for me.

This isn’t always easy.  In our affluence we suffer minimal deprivation at best.  Even our limited vision notices God’s goodness to us.  However, that steady flow of affluence can build up a godless trust in the affluence.  That trust can be severely shaken when things fall apart for us.  Will I trust God as Job did under his circumstances?

“Lord, You know what is best.  Free me of the sludge of godlessness so that I can follow You confidently no matter what happens.  What a role model Job was.  Thank You for Your Word.  I surrender to You now.”

If I am in God’s Will, anything that happens will be for my good whether I realize it or not.

hw-1017

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.