I want to be like them

“The Lord’s hand was with them, and a great number of people believed and turned to the Lord.”  Acts 11:21.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 5, Psalm 108, and Acts 5.

What can happen if the Lord is with me?

Do we settle for too little in that regard?

I have been noting regularly that I need to carry out the obvious.  Get the things done within my household.  Do the little things.

Today’s verse is quite remarkable.  These folks were carrying out the obvious and “a great number of people believed and turned to the Lord.”

What keeps that from happening to me?  I have friends and family who are not believers.  They’re nice people but they haven’t accepted the Gospel for what it is; a new life belonging to God.

Is God’s hand not on me?  Or am I missing the power His hand on me gives me?

This is a dilemma for me.  I know, on one hand, that God can use me to do whatever He chooses.  On the other hand, I don’t want to be negligent in sharing the Gospel and seeing results.

What to do?

“Lord, I want to get it right.  I read of what Your followers did in Acts and I want what they had.  I have Your Holy Spirit as they did.  Empower me to rightly represent You wherever I am as they did.  Empower me to present, in Your power, the Good News in a way that results in adding believers from among my friends and family.  I love You, Lord.”

Will I do whatever He asks so that I rightly represent Him in my midst?

hw-1019-harrison-house-tree

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.