Understanding the future

“But as he left, he promised, ‘I will come back if it is God’s will.’” Acts 18:21.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 13-14, and Acts 17-18.

“I’ll see you tomorrow.”  How often do we say that?  But can we be so sure?

God is the one who numbers our days.  We are not in control.  We should do things tentatively.  Why?  Because we can’t be certain of what is ahead.

I had a friend die nearly a year ago.  He was younger than I am.  There isn’t a certain age at which we will die.

There is something to be said for planning ahead.  However, if we understand the “Lord willing” part of planning then we are approaching the future in a Godly way.

I need to be immersed in God’s will.  The constant plea of, “Lord, what do You want me doing or not doing?” is a good one.  We must get that right!

Because I don’t know God’s will I must be ready for anything.  That is why when the apostles were sent out they traveled lightly.  They were to Godly react as they went along.  I need to do the same.

A deceased friend of mine, who was ninety,  was wont to discuss his future by saying, “I don’t buy any green bananas.”  Why?  May not live long enough to eat them.

“Lord, forgive me for directing my own path.  That is folly.  I want Your directing.  I want Your time frame to kick into my life.  Fill me with You so that my inclinations are Godly.  Expose and remove the godless distractions that have roosted in me.  I want to rightly represent You, Father.”

The future is NOT in your hands.  Attach yourself to the One who controls your future.

hw-1023-loon-4

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.