“What shall I do, Lord?”

“’Who are you, Lord?’ I asked. ‘I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom you are persecuting.’ He replied.  My companions saw the light, but they did not understand the voice of him who was speaking to me.  ‘What shall I do, Lord?’ I asked.” Acts 22:8-10.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 16, and Acts 21-23.

Are we willing to ask such a question?

When we realize that God is the ONLY source of the right answers, we will constantly turn to Him.

Too often we turn our attention to counterfeit gods.  We lower God to an alternative.

When things are going well I often accumulate alternatives to God.  My job becomes a god.  My wealth becomes a god.  My health becomes a god.  If those things are all set, then I’m all set.  But they aren’t all set if they replace my trust in God.

If I start to nurture those things rather than my relationship to God, then trouble is on its way.  Those things are terminal.  They have importance but not ultimate importance.

When Paul meets Jesus up close and personal every other influence in his life melts away.  He now wants to do whatever God wants him to do.  That approach will transform Paul and it will do the same for you and I.

Are we willing to sincerely ask God, “What do You want me to do?”  It starts there.

“Lord, what do You want me doing and not doing?  Reveal Your will to me.  I yield control.  Direct my path.  Thank You, Father.”

Will you ask God, “What do You want me to do?”

hw-10-24

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.