Size doesn’t matter

“But God has helped me to this very day; so I stand here and testify to small and great alike.”  Acts 26:22.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 17, and Acts 24-26.

Paul is doing the talking in this verse.  He is in front of a King.

The role-model aspect to what is happening is that Paul is not adjusting what it says to fit the audience.  Truth is truth and Paul plans to tell it like it is wherever he is.

Then there’s us: How often do we say something in one place and then deliberately not say it elsewhere?

We size up the audience.  We estimate the repercussions.  We play it safe.

Paul wasn’t like that.  Paul was consistent.

Our tempered speaking is often the result of counterfeit gods in our lives.  Having the approval of others is one of those counterfeit gods.  We think, “If I say this then they will be offended and I will lose them as a friend.  I can’t risk that.”

I believe that there is a place for manners.  However, I know that there have been times when I have not spoken up about the place God has in my life.  There were natural openings that I chickened out of.  God can’t be pleased.  There is Scripture about “disowning” Him on earth and the consequence of that action.

“Lord, why do I hesitate to rightly represent You verbally?  I am certainly weak and as long as I function in my own strength I will represent You weakly.  Fill me with Your strength.  I have Your Holy Spirit.  Help me to rightly represent You in every aspect of today.  Thank You, Lord.”

Challenge yourself to rightly represent God in everything you do the rest of today.

hw-10-26

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.