Who’s in charge?

“Simon and his companions went to look for him, and when they found him, they exclaimed; ‘Everyone is looking for you!’  Jesus replied, ‘Let us go somewhere else.’”  Mark 1:36-38.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 19, and Mark 1-2.

God will do what God wants to do.

In these verses the disciples come face-to-face with that lesson.

The crowds were large and excited.  People were getting healed.  Bigger seemed to be the direction in which they were headed.  BUT that was not God’s plan.

Why?  God only knows.

When we try to grasp the mind of God we must realize how terribly limited we are to do it.  We would do a whole lot better if we started with that premise.

If I do not know the future, and I don’t, then I must “attach” myself to Someone who does.  I cannot be in a casual relationship with the One who knows.  Why?  I will miss His plan for me.

I am a firm believer in the theme of carrying out the obvious.  However, short-term/long-term certainties do not exist except in the mind of God.

I must fasten myself to Him and not let go.

“Lord, You know the now and the future.  I don’t and never will.  Help me to trust You for direction during those times.  You know the way I should go.  I want to go exactly that way.  Forgive me for any independent living I have done.  I want that to end.  I “submit myself, then to You.”  You are my God.”

Are you still trying to plan your days ahead without God?

hw-10-28

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.